AI ART sound art

Autopoetry Apparatus

Verena Lercher
Verena Lercher
Verena Lercher

for anti-capitalist advertisement material

The audience enters a space that shows four loudspeakers on stands and a commercial thermal printer for till receipts built into a console.

An artificial intelligence trained and staged as an AUTOPOETRY APPARATUS generates advertising texts in the writing and speaking style of the author Rolf Dieter Brinkmann. These texts are vocalised live and spatialised by four loudspeakers.

Four AIs are talking to each other, articulating different versions of the text-generation. The loudspeakers, directed towards a common centre for dialogue, act like discussants. Through different rhythms of speech and the emotional moment of the sounding speech, the apparatuses appear human-like, while digital material is transferred back into an immediate analogue experience. Thinking, formulating, competing as well as inner states are generated exclusively through sound and thus made audible.

Individual texts are selected by a fifth, higher-level AI (referee) and written down in situ by the commercial thermal printer. However, printing on thermal paper is not durable. After a while, the selected poems fade to the point of being completely unrecognisable. The document function dissolves, the laboriously created and archived has to disappear again due to the medium.

The new, what has been created at the moment, evolves, is discussed in order to disappear again.

>> PROJECT PAGE

AI ART sound art

Autopoesie Apparatus

Verena Lercher
Verena Lercher
Verena Lercher

FÜR ANTIKAPITALISCHTES WERBEMATERIAL

Der Zuschauer betritt einen Raum, der vier Lautsprecher auf Stativen und einen Thermodrucker für Kassenbelege ausstellt. Eine Künstliche Intelligenz inszeniert als AUTOPOESIE APPARATUS generiert Werbetexte im Schreib- bzw. Sprechstil von Rolf Dieter Brinkmann, die über vier Lautsprecher live übertragen und spatialisiert werden.

Die Lautsprecher, wie zu einem Dialog auf ein gemeinsames Zentrum gerichtet, wirken dabei wie Diskutanten – vier KIs sprechen miteinander. Durch unterschiedliche Sprechrhythmen und das klang-sprachliche Emotionsmoment kommt es zur einer Vermenschlichung der Apparate während digitales Material in eine unmittelbare analoge Erfahrbarkeit rück-übertragen wird. Das Nachdenken, Formulieren, Konkurrieren sowie Emotionszustände werden ausschließlich über den Klang erzeugt und so für das Publikum hörbar gemacht. Von einer weiteren übergeordneten KI werden einzelne Texte ausgewählt und über einen Thermodrucker ebenfalls live niedergeschrieben.

Der Druck auf Thermopapier ist jedoch nicht haltbar. Nach einer Zeit verblassen die ausgewählten „Gedichte“ bis hin zur vollkommenen Unkenntlichkeit des Geschriebenen. Die Dokumenten-Funktion löst sich auf, das mühsam Erzeugte und Archivierte muss wieder verschwinden. Neues, im Moment Erzeugtes wird diskutiert, folgt nach, um sich wieder zu entziehen.

>> PROJEKTSEITE