Vita

Verena Lercher
Verena Lercher
Verena Lercher

Born 1979 in Bad Radkersburg (AT).
Based in Lucerne (CH) and Cologne (DE).

Since winter semester 2018/19 postgraduate student of exMedia at the Academy of Media Arts Cologne (KHM, DE).

Her work is engaged in the exploration of performative and installative techniques and methods at the sensual interface of body, synthetic language and new media. Exploring voice synthesis techniques, adapting multi-channel speaker systems.

Currently developing the trilogy of the installative solo performances dust, LAMENT FOR A SPEAKER AND A BEAR and Songs for leaving Las Vegas. Different voice synthesis techniques are explored and multi-channel speaker systems are used. Development of the installation ALGORITHMIC BREATHING for Icosahedral loudspeaker, synthetic voices and one performer using John Cage texts in collaboration with the sound artist Gerriet Krishna Sharma and the Institute for Electronic Music and Acoustics Graz (IEM, AT).

Ongoing research in auto-poetic systems in performance and writing using neuronal networks (AI) at Academy of Media Arts Cologne (KHM, DE).

ARTISTIC WORK since 2000 (Selection)

2018 performance_lab at Zurich University of Arts (ZHdK, CH): Listening to your own hearing as a performative strategy. Exemplary media transformations of the auditive in theater and performance.

Since 2017 member of various jury activities, lectures and lessons at Zurich University of Arts (ZHdK, CH) in performative techniques for voice and body in space with special focus on medial techniques of sound and voice (re) production.

pasdedeuX for 2 performers and 16 turntables was supported in 2017/18 by the A9-cultural fund of the province of Styria (AT) and invited to the 2nd Cologne Congress Narration in the media by Deutschlandfunk Cologne (DE),  2019 presented at the 6th CARPA Colloquium in Performing Arts Helsinki (FN) and 2020 curated by Jochen Heufelder at Kunstraum Fuhrwerkswaag Köln (DE).

2016/17 the Sea – a performative live radio play for one speaker, voices and live electronics at the opening of the Open Box Lucerne (CH) and the cultural platform analog.

2016 – 2018 permanent engagement at the Lucerne Theater as performer and actress. Piece developments with directors such as Bram Jansen (NL), Alexander Giesche (DE), Trixa Arnold (CH), Anja Behrens (DK).

September 2015 soloperformance for the Institute for Art in Public Space Graz (AT) over a period of two weeks as part of the installation The monumental is my illness of the Berlin artist duo Dellbrügge & de Moll. The project is documented in the half-yearly magazine polar21- Politik I Theorie I Everday life, autumn edition 2016.

Since 2014 development, organization and performance of own pieces in collaboration with various artists and institutions, such as the media artist Anja Behrens (DK), the sound artist and composer Gerriet K. Sharma, the techno musician and game designer SØS Gunver Ryberg (SWE), the Suhrkamp author Gunther Geltinger (DE) and the media artist and scenographer Penelope Wehrli (DE).

July 2013 main role in the movie Where I live. A film for Ilse Aichinger. (Director: Christine Nagel). The film celebrated its world premiere at the Diagonale Graz (AT) in March 2014 and was invited to arsenal Berlin (DE), to festivals in London (GB) and Antwerp (BEL) and the Goethe Institute Tokyo (JPN).
 In the same year speaker in the radio play After the disappearance, produced by the RBB and Ö1. After the disappearance was elected as the radio play of the month by the German Academy of Arts and sent by broadcasters such as the BR, WDR, DLR.

2008 – 2015 permanent engagement at Schauspielhaus Graz (AT), where she worked closely with Krystian Lupa, Wojtek Klemm, Elmar Goerden and Anna Badora.

2009 Nomination for the Nestroy Prize as best young actress.

2003 move to Berlin (DE). Activity in independent productions at Hebbel am Ufer (HAU) and at the Sophiensaelen. Intensive collaboration with Christoph Schlingensief among others as part of the opera project Freax with Moritz Eggert at the Opera Bonn (DE).

2001 start of studies at the Otto-Falckenberg-School, Munich (DE).

Vita

Verena Lercher
Verena Lercher
Verena Lercher

geboren 1979 in Bad Radkersburg (AT).
Lebt derzeit in Luzern (CH) und Köln (DE).

Seit dem Wintersemester 2018/19 Postgraduierte im Studiengang exMedia an der Kunsthochschule für Medien Köln (KHM, DE).

Ihre Arbeit beschäftigt sich mit der Auslotung performativer und installativer Techniken und Methoden an der sinnlichen Schnittstelle von Körper, synthetischer Sprache und neuen Medien geht.

Derzeit Entwicklung der Trilogie der installativen Soloperformances staub, LAMENT FOR A SPEAKER AND A BEAR und ARCHive. Dabei werden unterschiedliche Stimmsynthesetechniken erforscht und Multikanallautsprechersysteme eingesetzt werden.

Forschung an autopoetischen Systemen für Performance unter Verwendung von neuronalen Netzwerken (KI) an der Kunsthochschule für Medien Köln (KHM, DE).

Künstlerischer Werdegang seit 2000 (Auswahl)

2018 Performance_Lab an der Züricher Hochschule der Künste (ZHdK, CH): Hören auf das eigene Hören als performative Strategie. Exemplarische mediale Transformationen des Auditiven in Theater und Performance.

Seit 2017 Jurytätigkeit sowie lectures und lessons an der Züricher Hochschule der Künste (ZHdK, CH) in performativen Techniken für Stimme und Körper im Raum, mit besonderem Schwerpunkt auf medialen Techniken der Klang- und Stimm(re)produktion.

Die Performance pasdedeuX für 2 Performer und 16 Schallplattenspieler wurde durch die A9 Kulturförderung des Landes Steiermark unterstützt, eingeladen zum 2.Kölner Kongress Erzählen in den Medien vom Deutschlandfunk Köln (DE), 2019 zum 6th CARPA Colloquium in Performing Arts Helsinki (FN) und 2020 kuratiert von Jochen Heufelder im Kunstraum Fuhrwerkswaag Köln (DE).

2016/17 Aufführung das Meer, ein performatives live-Hörstück für Sprecher, Stimmen und live-Elektronik im Rahmen der Eröffnung der Open Box Luzern (CH) sowie zur Eröffnung des Kulturformats analog (CH).

2016 – 2018 Festvertrag am Luzerner Theater als Performerin und Akteurin. Stückentwicklungen mit Regisseuren wie Bram Jansen (NL), Alexander Giesche (BRD), Trixa Arnold (CH), Anja Behrens (DK).

September 2015 Soloperformance über einen Zeitraum von zwei Wochen im Rahmen der Installation Das Monumentale ist meine Krankheit des Berliner Künstlerduos Dellbrügge & de Moll für das Institut für Kunst im öffentlichen Raum Graz (AT). 
Das Projekt ist dokumentiert in dem Halbjahresmagazin polar21- Politik I Theorie I Alltag, Herbstausgabe 2016.

Seit 2014 Entwicklung, Organisation und Aufführung eigener Stücke in Zusammenarbeit mit verschiedenen Künstlern und Institutionen, wie der Medienkünstlerin Anja Behrens (DK), dem Klangkünstler und Komponist Gerriet K. Sharma (DE), der Technomusikerin und Gamedesignerin SØS Gunver Ryberg (SWE), dem Suhrkamp-Autor Gunther Geltinger (DE) und der Berliner Medienkünstlerin und Szenografin Penelope Wehrli (DE).

Juli 2013 Hauptrolle in dem Kinofilm Wo ich Wohne. Ein Film für Ilse Aichinger. (Regie: Christine Nagel). Der Film feierte im März 2014 auf der Diagonale Graz (AT) Weltpremiere und wurde ins arsenal Berlin (DE), zu Festivals nach London (GB) und Antwerpen (BEL) und vom Goethe Institut Tokio (JPN) eingeladen. 
Im selben Jahr Sprecherin in dem Hörspiel Nach dem Verschwinden, produziert vom RBB und Ö1. Nach dem Verschwinden wurde von der Deutschen Akademie der Künste zum Hörspiel des Monats gewählt und von weitern Rundfunkanstalten wie dem BR, WDR, DLR gesendet.

2009 Nominierung für den Nestroypreis als beste Nachwuchsdarstellerin.

2008-2015 Festengagement am Schauspielhaus Graz (AT), wo sie eng mit Krystian Lupa, Wojtek Klemm, Elmar Goerden und Anna Bodara zusammenarbeitete.

2003 Umzug nach Berlin (DE). Tätigkeit in freien Produktionen am Hebbel am Ufer (HAU) und an den Sophiensaelen. Intensive Zusammenarbeit mit Christoph Schlingensief u.a. im Rahmen des Opern-Projekts Freax mit Moritz Eggert an der Oper Bonn (DE).

2001 Aufnahme des Studiums an der Otto-Falckenberg Schule, München (DE).