Performance

The monumental is my illness

Verena Lercher
Verena Lercher
Verena Lercher

People always think that I am one who is directly interested in politics.
This is nonsense.
(Heiner Müller)

On behalf of the Institute for Art in Public Space (KiöR) Graz, the Berlin artist duo Dellbrügge & de Moll questioned the relationship between art and power. In Graz, once the “city of the popular uprising”, they met with a positive response.
As part of a lengthy research process they dealt with the relationship between art and state power during the Third Reich, but also with the after-effects of these implications which reach into our present. Using the example of the state artist Arno Breker and his close connection to Hitler, the SS state and the concomitant mixture of right-wing ideology and the idea of art, they captured a frighteningly timeless image of control, power and prerogative of interpreting art and non-art. The core of all considerations were three questions:

Which conditions constitute artistic production?
What function does the politics attribute to art?
How does art relate to politics?

Behind the memorial for the fallen of both world wars by Alexander Silveri at the Grazer Wallanlage opens up a narrow space that can not be seen from the park. Here, in the back of the memorial, the artists staged the results of their research.

Original texts by Breker, Hitler, Goebbels, ideologues and art historians were provided for the performer to make the talking about art during the Nazi period audible. In a two-week series of public working process, these texts were spoken and rehearsed on different days. Here, individual passages were repeated and articulated in different attitudes and ways of speaking in front of the audience. Together and in a public dialogue with Dellbrügge & de Moll, everyday the performer developed a different style of performing the appropriate material, which could change depending on the audience, gesture and space. Thus, the content was illuminated from different perspectives and made possible a less historical and more modern reflection of the sensitive content.

Opening: 18. September 2015, Graz

>> project page

Performance

Das Monumentale ist meine Krankheit

Verena Lercher
Verena Lercher
Verena Lercher

Man hält mich immer für einen Menschen, der unmittelbar an Politik interessiert ist.
Das ist Unsinn.
(Heiner Müller)

Im Auftrag des Instituts für Kunst im öffentlichen Raum (KiöR) Graz befragte das Berliner Künstlerpaar Dellbrügge & de Moll  das Verhältnis von Kunst und Macht. In Graz, einst „Stadt der Volkserhebung“, trafen sie damit auf einen Resonanzraum.
Im Rahmen eines langwierigen Rechercheprozesses beschäftigten sie sich mit dem Verhältnis von Kunst und Staatsmacht im Dritten Reich, aber auch mit den Nachwirkung dieser Verwicklungen, die bis in unsere Gegenwart hinein reichen. Am Beispiel des Staastkünstlers Arno Breker und dessen engen Verbindung zu Hitler, dem SS-Staat und der einhergehenden Vermischung von rechter Ideologie und Kunstauffassung zeichneten sie ein erschreckend zeitloses Bild von Kontrolle, Macht und Deutungshoheit über Kunst und Nicht-Kunst nach. Im Kern aller Überlegungen fanden sich drei Fragen:

Welche Bedingungen konstituieren künstlerische Produktion?
Welche Funktion schreibt die Politik der Kunst zu?
Wie verhält sich die Kunst zur Politik?

Hinter dem Ehren- und Mahnmal für die Gefallenen beider Weltkriege von Alexander Silveri an der Grazer Wallanlage öffnet sich ein schmaler Raum, der vom Park aus nicht eingesehen werden kann. Hier, im Rücken des Mahnmals, inszenierten die Künstler Belege ihrer Recherche.

Der Performerin wurden Originaltexte von Breker, Hitler, Goebbels, Ideologen und Kunsthistorikern zur Verfügung gestellt, um das Sprechen über Kunst in der Nazizeit hörbar zu machen.
In einem zweiwöchigen, öffentlichen Arbeitsprozess wurden diese Texte an verschiedenen Tagen gesprochen und probiert. Hierbei wurden einzelne Passagen wiederholt und in unterschiedlichen Haltungen und Sprechweisen vor Publikum artikuliert. Gemeinsam und im öffentlichen Gespräch mit Dellbrügge & de Moll entwickelte die Performerin täglich eine andere Vortragsweise für das entsprechende Material, die sich abhängig von Publikum, Körpergeste und Raumbespielung ändern konnte. Somit wurde der Inhalt aus verschiedenen Perspektiven beleuchtet und eine weniger historische als gegnwärtige Reflektion der sensiblen Inhalte ermöglicht.

Eröffnung: 18. September 2015, Graz

>> Projektseite